A Good Day

Today was a good day. It was a Monday and I got to play hooky. That alone would do it for me but added to that the weather was divine - sunny and warm but not too warm – and I was in a place of stunning natural beauty doing one of the things I love best (rock climbing.) What’s not to love? (Am I making you nauseous? I do hope not but feel free to click away if this is the case, natch.)

Actually, a more accurate description of my relationship with climbing might be ‘love-hate.’ Most of the time I really love it and it plays an important role in my life. But some days it drives me wild (and not in the good way.) It’s the classic love-hate thing where you want something a little too much and in grasping it so tightly you end up strangling the life out of it if you’re not careful.

I don’t know how much you know about rock climbing but one fact about it that may or may not surprise you is that it is 99% mental. Power, technique and fitness all play their part but reigning supreme over them all is the climber’s head. Fact: your technique goes to pot if your head is not calm and focused. Fact: your power disappears in an instant when lactic acid surges through your forearms because you’ve been clinging on too hard because you’re scared. Fact: fitness doesn’t matter a jot if you don’t believe you can get up a climb.

And that, in a nutshell, is also why I have a love-hate relationship with climbing. I love it because it is by turns a mental challenge and a mental meditation. I love it because it strengthens me mentally. I hate it on days when I can’t (or won’t or don’t) rise to its challenge. I hate it when I make it hard for myself by psyching myself out. But today was not one of those days. Today was a good day.

Today was a day when I climbed with the sun on my back and a smile on my face. A day when I warmed my mind and muscles up well on easier climbs before challenging myself just a little bit more. A day when I eased myself into the rhythm of the rock and my movement started to flow. A day when I got a little nervous but I pushed through that fear, I didn’t succumb, and I felt good for having conquered it.

So next time I find myself stuck on a climb and suffering from disco-leg (a charming, involuntary and uncontrollable shaking of your lower limbs that attacks when you’re scared and then makes you a heap more scared as it threatens to chuck you off the rock-face) I promise I’ll do my best to cast my mind back to today. A day when it all flowed so well. A good day.

35 thoughts on “A Good Day

  1. afreethinkingfemale

    I am an avid climber, and you’re so right about the mental game. I’ve been a climber for 10 years now, and my ability waxes and wanes with the state of my mental equanimity. There have been periods when I haven’t been able to climb at all because of anxiety or trauma, even though my body is quite fit. And there have been times when I am physically out of shape but I climb strong because I am mentally strong. In fact, the older I get and the more climbing experience I accumulate, the more I enjoy pushing my mind on the rock instead of my body. Give me a long, moderate, granite multi-pitch with a nice view on a sunny day instead of a short, muscle-testing power fest. Learn to embrace the mental side and the “hate” will fall away from the love-hate equation. Some days I’m not up to the mental test either, and while I used to get frustrated and upset, now I just accept my shortcomings for the day, enjoy the nice weather, and savor time spent outdoors with friends. ;) Climb on, and thanks for sharing!

    Reply
    1. Asturian Diary Post author

      Thanks so much for reading and for your thoughtful comment. And you’re entirely correct of course – the very best thing about climbing is the beautiful places it takes you to and the quality time you spend there with friends. :)

      Reply
  2. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! — Blog — WordPress.com

  3. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | iwebspider design and consulting

  4. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Texas Lawyer Journal

  5. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Clube do Facebook

  6. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! /  Ecoturismo México

  7. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! - Unofficial Network

  8. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Miley Ray Cyrus

  9. Pingback: lincawebsolutions.com » Blog Archive » NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone!

  10. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Greig Oliver Blog

  11. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | OMG-Gurubootcamp!! Singapore

  12. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Exotic Motors

  13. Pingback: A Good Day « sandisellsokc

  14. Pingback: Comandante Che GuevaraNaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Comandante Che Guevara

  15. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | CMS News Today

  16. fmiglio437

    Amo la montagna TANTISSIMO e continuerò ad amarla sino al mio ultimo respiro ma la montagna bisogna saperla rispettare e rispettarla SEMPRE

    Reply
  17. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Camping Catalytic Heaters

  18. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone!

  19. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | WPhub.biz

  20. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Blogging Opportunity

  21. Pingback: Healthy food blog » NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone!

  22. Pingback: Movement as a Mood Enhancer | A Month of Mindful Blogging

  23. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Html5 Tutorials

  24. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! - Commenta la tecnologia, la telefonia, i software

  25. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Electrician Richardson

  26. Pingback: AUTO CRUT » Blog Archive » NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone!

  27. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Fofoca

  28. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Blog

  29. Pingback: NaBloPoMo: Keep Up The Good Work, Everyone! | Solving Problems

  30. Pingback: We Need To Talk | A Month of Mindful Blogging

Leave a Reply

