Through the Window

I have been neglecting this blog of late. And the longer I leave it, the harder it becomes to start again. Thoughts back up. Words get stuck. Half-formed posts clog up both my drafts folder and my mind. Where to begin?

Well, anywhere will do really. The important part is simply beginning. Once the writing starts flowing then, and only then, can it be channelled.

With this in mind I grabbed my free half hour by the scruff of its neck and opened up WordPress, determined to publish a post. It opened on my reader and my attention was caught by the Daily Post Challenge prompt for today: Through the Window.    It reads: ‘Go to the nearest window. Look out for a full minute. Write about what you saw.’

And so I did. This is what I saw.

IMG_7116

It was a little after 6pm and the sun was setting over the mountains. The light was, as it so often is, truly beautiful. Living here, high above the sea and facing south to big mountains, is like having a grandstand seat in a nightly pyrotechnics display. The mundanities of daily life may get in the way and I may forget to raise my head from tasks and chores but then, every so often, a shaft of light will strike through to the centre of the living room, catching my eye and drawing me, irresistibly, to the window.

The light is always different but it never fails to take my breath away. It never fails to inspire awe in me. It never fails to inspire.

I could tell you about how this view encapsulates so many of the reasons why we chose to live where we do, in this somewhat strange yet terribly beautiful remote hilltop hamlet. The mountains – our playground as climbers – feature strongly. The lack of light pollution or of visible metropolises tells of the calm we sought. The snow in the distance, absent in the foreground illustrates the softening influence of the nearby sea – our other playground, as surfers.

And all of this would be true. But the largest, simplest truth, is the light. That intangible, magical quality that resonated deep within us when we first drove up this valley in the real estate agent’s car. That is why we are here. That is why I love this view.

This is what I see through the window.

IMG_7117

 

 

15 thoughts on “Through the Window

  1. djmatticus

    What a fantastic view. I have to say I’m a bit jealous that you get to live so close to the things you love (climbing and surfing) and still live away from the hustle and bustle of a city. I live in CA so I too am blessed with being near enough the ocean and mountains that I could surf and snowboard on the same day… but, to be able to afford to live here I am forced to live and work in a city: the people, the smell, the noise, they all clog up my senses and make it harder to see ocean to the west and the mountains to the east and sometimes I forget they are there at all.

    Reply
    1. Asturian Diary Post author

      I do feel very lucky indeed. That being said, California is also on my list of places I would love to live! But, having lived in London and Dublin, amongst other cities, I certainly know what you mean about the city clogging up your senses. There’s always some element of compromise to where we end up living – for me it’s compromised earning potential, plus a final extra 10 minutes of driving up a windy road at the end of a day out, when I wish I was already home! Thanks so much for reading and taking the time to comment.

      Reply
      1. djmatticus

        Yes, but I already have the long drive at the end of the day, as I go from the city I work to the city I live, I might as well get the view! Besides, I’m crazy and like windy roads. :-D

      2. Asturian Diary Post author

        Haha! Sounds like you could do with cutting at least one city out of your life. I can throroughly recommend living with a view. Especially if you like windy roads. :)

      3. djmatticus

        LOL! Oh no! Don’t cross it off just because I’m unfortunate enough to have such a crazy commute back and forth to work. There are plenty of opportunities to live and work in the same city. Alas, I’ve just found myself in a very, er.. um… turbulent industry at the moment and have had 5 jobs in the last 5 years – I’m not going to move each time I have to switch jobs, so, I find myself living the commuter lifestyle at the moment. At one time I only lived 8 minutes from work… ahh, those were the days.

      4. Asturian Diary Post author

        Man that sucks! :( As does the global economy generally. It does explain what would otherwise appear to have been some very poor planning on your part, however!

      5. djmatticus

        Whew, glad we got that cleared up. That being said – the cost of living where I do is X and the cost of living where I work is 3X, at least, so there is that to factor in as well.

  2. Pingback: MY BOLDEST ADDICTION « hastywords

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Through the Window.. .where is the Southern Cross? | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  4. Pingback: Inspiration: In The Heart Of Winter… | Mirth and Motivation

Leave a Reply

