Giving Up?

I’m tired tonight. I’ve had a busy day and there’s a lot of stuff whirring around in my head and begging for space on my to-do list. I could quite happily sink into bed. I could very easily give up on this daily blogging for a month. Who would ever miss my posts?

Probably no-one. Apart from me. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that my productivity and positivity levels have shot up since I started this exercise. My God, I even completed a task today that I was 3 years behind on – you know, the kind of thing you wake to worry about at 2am. So yes, I’m pretty pleased.

Perhaps it’s just a blogging placebo effect (blogbo?) but whatever, it’s definitely working for me. If white sugar pills to pop can do it for subjects in medical trials I don’t see why white screens to write on can’t do it for me and my mildly tortured brain on the hunt for an outlet.

I have always found the practice of journal writing, I was going to say therapeutic but it’s less that, less remedial and more positive and forward thrusting for me. Anyway, you get the idea. I like keeping a journal. BUT, and here’s the kicker, despite liking it, despite getting a lot from it, despite all of the positive effects I recognise, I still have a tendency to let it slide. What’s that all about? (Idiocy, laziness, self-sabotage? Delete as you deem appropriate.)

And that’s where blogging differs from keeping a musty old journal under my bed. It’s a dynamic, interactive, social process. Even here, on a new, low-key blog with barely any readers, each time I press publish it’s like sprinkling a little bit of fairy dust on my thoughts and writings. Who knows where they might end up or lead, who they might touch or affect?

It may seem a little far-fetched to think this way but I guess that all I’m really saying is that the act of making public my private thoughts (even though in a paradoxically very private manner) is both liberating and empowering. And that, to me, is magical.

So no. I’m not giving up on NaBloPoMo. Instead I’m thankful for the opportunity and motivation it has given me to keep turning up at the page and pressing publish.

I may be hanging on by my fingernails, but I’m not giving up!

92 thoughts on “Giving Up?

  1. My Little Italian Kitchen

    Beautifully written post. I loved it!
    I have just experimented blogging every day but I am not sure it works for me.
    it is exhausting and it is difficult to produce quality posts when you are tired. To be really inspired and enjoy blogging ( so you don’t just give it up) you have to blog when passion for what you are writing comes.. and you certainly cannot make it come when you just decide it.
    It is locked within you, one of those things in life you cannot just get or buy :-)

    Reply
    1. Asturian Diary Post author

      Yes, you do need to write when you’re inspired and passionate about it. Experimenting in blogging every day (for a limited time!) has given me a new insight though into the benefit that can come from actually pushing yourself to create something when you’re not feeling so much like it. Horribly difficult at first but it can be very satisfying when, after chipping away at it determinedly, you start to reveal a piece of writing you’re actually happy with.

      Reply
  2. judymorrisart

    I love this……it´s just how I feel too. A while back I blogged in support of people who are losing everything in this recession. As a new blogger I thought that at the most, only a few people would read it. ……..but it felt good to reach out to that unknown few (or even one) and hope I had helped in some small way.
    I am an artist, not a writer, but I find blogging every bit as exciting as creating a new painting.
    Congratulations on being “freshly pressed”, and on writing this blog.
    Judy xxx

    Reply
  3. missjessedeol

    Congrats on the FP…may your positive thoughts turn into reality!! (Maybe that’s how you made it to FP?!) I think blogging is better than a journal in that, as you mentioned, more interactive, people can comment, etc. Also nice that you can delete stuff, edit, add pictures, etc. And if you have to have an addition, white screens are better than white pills!!

    ~Join Me~ http://missjessedeol.wordpress.com/
    ~Like Me~ https://www.facebook.com/MissCaliBayArea
    ~Follow Me~ @missbayareacali

    Reply
  4. lawrencemosley72

    This is one of my first blogs that I have ever read, and I have enjoyed it. It was my pleasure to read your blog; I am a foreigner to the blogging community, who has been directed here by my college professor for a self branding project. I am familiar with other social media networks, but I must say this is a more meaningful conversation than ninety percent of the daily newsfeed updates that I have been reviewing for the last three years. Keep up the good work, and don’t give up!

    Reply
  5. Pingback: Giving Up? | Leeeja's Script :)

  6. ct1stclass

    I love this post! He honesty in it really struck a chord with me. I am still trying to find my voice with my blog and its nice to hear yours shining through in this post. It tells me it can be done.

    Reply
  7. preachercarter

    I was about to encourage you not to give up but letting you in on a lesson I taught last night entitled “Don’t You Dare Quit” but because you are not giving in I would like to encourage you nonetheless. You are a great writer and this is the first of your messages I have read. And, I wish I had half the followers you have. Then I would be better encouraged. ;-) Either way, write well and be well.

    http://thechristianperspective.intuitwebsites.com/index.html

    Reply
  8. Pingback: Giving Up? | sajjadsiddique

  9. Pingback: And Now, The End is Near…. | A Month of Mindful Blogging

  10. Pingback: We Need To Talk | A Month of Mindful Blogging

  11. Pingback: The Field | A Month of Mindful Blogging

Leave a Reply

