We Need To Talk

Hello Blog,

it’s me, Blogger.

I know, I know. I’ve not done much just lately to deserve that title. I’ve neglected you.

But don’t think for a moment that that means that I’ve forgotten you. You have never been far from my thoughts. A million times a day I’ve smiled to myself as I thought about how later on I’d share the funny thing that just happened with you. I ran through exactly how I’d tell it – the set up, the punchline. Oh how we’d laugh.

Or I’d have a sudden flash of insight and I’d think to myself, I must tell Blog this. He’ll get it. He might even shed some more light on the subject – he’s such a good listener that I find myself developing my thoughts further and honing them more sharply when I tell them to him.

Then I’d pull myself up sharply as I remembered that we were on a break. Last month was so intense.  We went from being strangers to seeing each other every day. I needed to take a step back. I needed some space to breathe.

If I’m honest, we were only ever meant to be a fling. This can’t really come as a surprise to you. We had an expiry date from the get-go. A month. That’s what you were going to be to me – I told you as much. I didn’t even introduce you to my friends (or, whisper it, my other blog). You were my little secret.

But something happened in that month. Maybe it was born of the intensity, of being flung so closely together so quickly. Perhaps the secrecy added something too. More than just a frisson of excitement it felt like a kind of freedom that I hadn’t experienced before. I could tell you anything and you wouldn’t judge me. You had no preconceived ideas or expectations of me. I could just be myself with you – whoever I was in that particular moment, on that particular day. You didn’t ask me for anything other than some daily time together. A little attention and focus. A commitment for that month we were meant to have together.

And even though some days I would come to your door reluctantly, perhaps tired and frazzled from a long day, I always made sure to turn up. And every day I left your company feeling happier for it. Some days we just chit chatted idly but I consoled myself with the fact that nobody was being forced to listen to our inanities. Some days I felt like I had nothing to say to you but you forced me to dig deep to unlock the silence and, before I knew it, we were sparking off each other; the conversation flowing and dancing in unexpected directions.

People began to notice us. We made new friends together. Friends who supported us when we were down and laughed with us when we were happy. They joined us in conversation and helped us develop our ideas, encouraged us in our pursuits. At times it felt a little like we were King and Queen of the Prom (Freshly Pressed, man!)

But all good things must come to an end. November drew to a close and I collapsed in a relieved heap. I had made it. Now for a well-deserved break.

But you know what? I miss you. I miss the daily grind challenge. I’m wondering if I ought to reconsider. Maybe it’s time to rethink my commitment phobic tendencies. That is, if you’ll have me back.

So how about it Blog? Shall we give it another whirl? Another daily dance (barring natural disasters or weekends away….those are my only caveats 😉 ) Heck, we don’t have to take it all too seriously – we can just have some fun and see where it takes us.

Let me know what you think.

Love, Me

 

4 thoughts on “We Need To Talk

Leave a Reply

