Saturday Night at the Movies

It’s probably just a sign of encroaching middle age but the number of times I am sorely disappointed by a trip to the movies now vastly outweighs the times I come out of the cinema blown away (or even mildly entertained.) So when I do see a movie that I genuinely enjoy – that makes me laugh or cry or think or sigh – then I really feel I should share it. Partly because such a rarity deserves to be shouted about and partly just to prevent myself from turning into a hopeless old grouch.

So, it is with great delight that I can tonight tell you of two such films. Last night I watched ‘The Perks of being a Wallflower,’ based on the coming of age novel of the same name. Now I hadn’t so much as heard of the book, let alone read it, so I didn’t have that to compare it to (or to make it too hotly anticipated by me). It was quite simply a great movie. A great story, well-acted. Thoughtful, moving, uplifting. Well worth a watch.

And last weekend I had the pleasure of watching Ruby Sparks. This wonderfully engaging movie manages to carry off a whimsical riff on the nature of creativity and relationships without ever losing credibility, pace or enjoyment.

I won’t say any more. Another thing I loathe more and more as I get more and more crabby in my old age is the tendency for plot spoilers EVERYWHERE. You can’t read, watch or listen to a review without them making your actual watching of the movie under review redundant. And as for trailers – don’t get me started.

So. There you go. Worth watching. End of.

 

2 thoughts on “Saturday Night at the Movies

  1. sushismith

    The Perks of Being a Wallflower is a beautiful book. Applicable when I was in high school, and recently when I reread it again. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I’m glad it sounds like they did the book justice!

    Reply
  2. Asturian Diary Post author

    I’ll have to read the book now. I would definitely recommend seeing the movie. You may have a different take on it, as you’ll be measuring it against your experience of the book but taken on its own merit its great. If you do see it please come back and let me know what you thought!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

