What To Do

So, having established that I can do anything the next step has got to be deciding what it is that I want to do.

Note: there is a difference between ‘what I want’ and ‘what I want to do.’ I’m talking about a call to action here.

Well, having written and re-written and deleted and re-created lists of things I both want and want to do, I keep coming back to one thing. I want to write.

I would love to earn a living from my writing. I would love to get published. I would love to feel confident calling myself a writer. I would love to write a book. I would love to make money from my blogging and to reach many people.

I want to write.

So that’s clear. Now I need to create a clear vision of what it will be like for me to do it.

For this I can draw on my previous experience of writing. Obviously I’ve written before (at school, at university, in journals, blogs and diaries) and obviously sometimes it has flowed better than others. For this exercise I need to draw upon my memories of the times when it flowed at its very best.

But that’s not going to be enough. If I’m going to do something I’ve never done before then drawing on my own experiences can’t possibly be enough to feed a powerful, complete visualization.

I need to observe someone who has already done it successfully and model their behaviour in doing so. Some research is required.

In this age of the internet and, in particular the blogosphere this task is made relatively straightforward. There are lots of writers out there who happily share insights into their processes, habits and ways.

It’s about finding the one(s) that most resonate with me. And then building my vision from there.

So I’m off to do a little digging. I would love to hear any suggestions you might have on blogs on writing and writers that are worth checking out. Or any other helpful resources or suggestions you might have.

Leave a Reply

