Changing State

Yesterday the weather broke. The day dawned with storms, the temperature plummeted and the clouds didn’t lift. It was a day for staying indoors.

After a long summer of mostly glorious weather and a life lived largely outdoors, I couldn’t really complain. But even so, by 5pm I was starting to go a little stir crazy.

I had been cracking on with my desk based jobs and even some housework (shocker!) which all made me feel rather pleased with myself but I got to the point where self-satisfaction wasn’t enough. I needed to move. I needed to change state.

And so I went for a run. Just a shortish one. But long enough to get me out of the house and get my blood pumping. Enough to get me breathing in lungfuls of fresh air and drinking in the beauty of the woods through which I ran.

By the time I got home half an hour later it felt like a new day. The rain and heavy cloud was no longer oppressive. I was awake again and now I had an evening to enjoy, rather than to struggle through, sofa-bound.

What about you? How do you change your internal state when you need to? Do you find your mood affected by the weather and your environment? I’d love to hear your experiences.

One thought on “Changing State

Leave a Reply

