The More You Do….The More You Do

I’m a firm believer in the adage that if you need something doing, then give it to a busy person. The net effect (for me, anyway) of having acres of time spreading out luxuriously is that time-planning and efficiency goes out the window. Put a little squeeze on it and I’m so much more productive and better organized.

So, what does this mean in practical terms? That I need to schedule my day more on the full side than the empty. That I’m better off saying yes to projects rather than no. That I shouldn’t resent calls on my time (within reason) and that I should embrace busy-ness and throw myself into life wholeheartedly.

Everything feeds into this. Exercise, housework, visiting elderly neighbours. Small, seemingly insignificant activities that can seem like simply time sucks can actually help me to place greater value on my time and to be more productive in the windows devote to work. Positive activities that are intrinsically worthwhile in themselves can also feed in to my greater creativity and productivity.

Sure, the time to sit and stare can also be invaluable. But if I’m honest I’ve tended to skew my life too much towards that style of doing things in the past and it can reach a point where it tips over into paralysis for me. Right now, I’m all about activity.

What about you? What’s the right balance between busy-ness and stillness for you? And does it change from time to time?

I would love to hear your thoughts and experiences.

2 thoughts on “The More You Do….The More You Do

  1. gwengurley

    I agree wholeheartedly and I believe in the general philosophy that you should always be doing something productive with your time. Even relaxation periods are productive though. They give you the energy you need to take on important stuff. It’s all important and meaningful.

    Reply
    1. Asturian Diary Post author

      You’re so right – relaxation periods are also vital; the fallow period that enables the consequent production to be better than ever. As ever, it’s all about getting the balance right and learning when you need to factor in some relaxing time or when you need to scout around for a new project to get stuck into. Thanks so much for reading and for taking the time to comment.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

