Day 1 Of Putting the Internet In Its Place

Well, I did it! For the first morning in a long time I refrained from checking my email and social media sites before getting out of bed. I almost didn’t manage it. As I pawed my phone to turn off my alarm, in my sleep befuddled state I found myself clicking on an email alert without even realizing what I was doing. In a flash I woke up fully and stopped myself. Then I put my phone down and got on with my morning. Internetless.

Now it may be a coincidence (I think not) but today has been my most productive day in a long time. I feel positive and capable and empowered. Instead of miring myself in internet-based procrastination first thing, I sat down with my to-do list and started to tackle it item by item. I don’t know about you but for me getting off to a good start in the morning is crucial. It sets the tone for my entire day. Thus if I start off with one simple, positive, proactive act my positivity and proactivity is likely to multiply throughout the day. And the converse is true too.

Thus it may seem a small step but it is a small step that leads to other small steps and before you know it you’ve travelled some distance.

Those 21 notifications will just have to wait.

Those 21 notifications will just have to wait.

6 thoughts on “Day 1 Of Putting the Internet In Its Place

  1. Head in Book

    So, so true. I have been “offline” more or less for the last few weeks. It’s salutary – and rather shaming – how much checking all the internet (more or less) has become a mindless reflex

    Reply
    1. Mary Post author

      It is, isn’t it? It’s my unconscious, ‘go-to’ time waster. And it just sucks the energy out of me. I bet you’ve noticed a difference with having some time off. I really want to take a step back and have a good, hard look at my internet use. I think there’s a lot to be gained from it.

      Reply
  2. Kami

    I want to follow your example. I think I’d have to go back to a regular alarm clock and put my phone out in the kitchen in order to succeed. Knowing you had a productive day without first checking in online gives me hope that I can do the same.

    Reply
    1. Mary Post author

      Go for it! I can totally recommend it. I find it so easy to get sucked into frittering away time and energy on the internet and just having some definite, clear boundaries seems to be really helping with that. It’s a good starting point anyway and I really am amazed how much one small step can affect my productivity.
      It would be great to have some more company on this challenge and to hear your experiences with it. Then next week we could review how it’s been and maybe add another challenge in!

      Reply
  3. Pingback: Step 2 | A Month of Mindful Blogging

Leave a Reply

