What Doesn’t Kill You….

This month’s mantra is currently ‘what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger’. In the last two weeks I have experienced more stress than I can remember. The break-down of a business partnership that turned ugly is the simplest way of putting it.

Any ‘break-up’ is always painful. When the other party gets nasty it’s even worse. When they decide to take to the internet and slander you it goes off the scale. I only realised this was happening when I saw a link to a libellous blog shooting past me on my Facebook timeline. At first I wasn’t really that bothered, as the allegations were all so ludicrous and easily disprovable. Then I realised that people were reading this s$%*t and believing it. And some of those people were even people who know me. Now that hurts.

So what can I do? I’ve tried maintaining a dignified silence. Released a simple statement refuting the lies but not stooping to retaliatory mud-slinging. I await an appointment with my solicitor. I hope she can help. Meanwhile the lies are out there and the people seem to believe them.

Life goes on. I’m starting to eat and sleep again. I’m turning to tasks to lose myself in. Getting on. I’m understanding that acquaintances are not necessarily friends (although some are) and that a friend in need is a friend indeed.

So the next time you read something unbelievably nasty about someone on the internet, stop and think. Don’t believe everything you read and don’t join a vendetta that you don’t understand. You could be seriously hurting someone innocent. Not to mention laying yourself open to action for libel.

And if you’ve experienced anything similar I’d love to hear how you dealt with it. Supportive comments most welcome….

 

Leave a Reply

